Arkansas Notary Bonds

Arkansas notary bonds are required for notary publics to legally operate in the state. Learn more about these bonds and find the best rates online.
Search for your bond to get started!

Arkansas Notary Bonds

State of Arkansas Notary Public Bond

State of Arkansas Notary Public Bond

The Arkansas Notary Public Bond costs $50 plus shipping costs and fees. Fill out the form to buy your bond instantly!

Bond State
Bond Terms
State of Arkansas
Bond Premium
Bond Amount:
Bond Duration
Bond Term:

How to purchase a notary bond in Arkansas

The Arkansas Secretary of State requires notary publics to post a surety bond to be eligible to operate in the state. The bonds protect the public from any financial losses resulting from the notary’s negligence or misconduct. They are issued for ten-year terms and remain in effect unless canceled by the surety company.

You can apply online for the bond directly through a surety company or agency. After your application is approved, you will receive a surety bond quote with the bond premium. If you accept the quote, you pay the premium and the surety company issues you the bond.

Unlike other types of surety bonds, Arkansas notary bonds do not require a credit check as part of the underwriting process. As a result, the bonds are often issued instantly upon completing the application.

How much is a notary bond in Arkansas?

All Arkansas notary publics must post a $7,500 surety bond. The surety company issuing the bond determines the percentage of the total bond amount you need to pay as a premium. Premiums for Arkansas notary public bonds generally cost $50.

How to become a notary in Arkansas?

To be appointed as a notary public in the State of Arkansas you must meet the following requirements set forth by the Arkansas Secretary of State.

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a U.S. citizen
  • Must reside or work in Arkansas
  • Must be able to read and write English
  • Must never have been convicted of a felony
  • Must not have had a notary commission revoked in the last 10 years.

If you meet these requirements, you can receive your notary commission by completing the following steps:

  • Complete the notary application
  • Post the $7,500 surety bond
  • Take an oath of office
  • Purchase notary supplies
  • Obtain errors and omissions insurance (optional)

There is a $15 filing fee for applications. For more details on becoming a notary public in Arkansas, you can visit the Arkansas Secretary of State website.

How to Know if You Need a Surety Bond

You’ll know if you need a surety bond because some entity will have required you to obtain one. They must also inform you of which specific bond type you’ll need. There are thousands of bonds across the country, all of which vary by state and industry.

Visit to browse hundreds of bonds by state, type, or industry.

Surety Bonds Online