Alaska Auto Dealer Bonds, and More

Alaska auto dealer bonds are required to obtain a license to sell motor vehicles in the state. Learn more about these bonds and find the best rates online.
Search for your bond to get started!

Alaska Auto Dealer Bonds, and More

State of Alaska Motor Vehicle Dealer / Buyer's Agent Bond

State of Alaska Motor Vehicle Dealer / Buyer's Agent Bond

The Alaska Motor Vehicle Dealer / Buyer's Agent Bond starts at $250 plus shipping costs and fees. Fill out the form to buy your bond instantly!

Bond State
Bond Terms
State of Alaska
Bond Premium
Bond Amount:
Bond Duration
Bond Term:

How much does an auto dealer bond cost in Alaska?

Auto dealer surety bonds (also called motor vehicle dealer bonds and buyer’s agent bonds) are mandated by the Alaska Commissioner of Administration as part of the licensing requirements for dealerships to conduct business in the state. The commissioner sets the total bond amount based on the type of dealership:

  • $50,000 bonds for motor vehicle dealers
  • $25,000 bonds for motorcycle dealers

The surety company determines your premium rate, which is the percentage of the total bond amount you pay as the premium. Premium rates for Alaska auto dealer bonds typically cost between 1% and 3% of the total bond amount.

During the application process, the surety company evaluates your personal credit, financial statements, industry experience, and licensing history. Applicants with good credit generally receive the lowest rates, however, bad credit will not prevent you from securing an Alaska auto dealer bond. EZSurety still offers competitive rates to individuals with low credit scores or other financial issues.

Why are auto dealer bonds important in Alaska?

Alaska auto dealer bonds provide protection for customers, creditors, and the state government. When an Alaska motor vehicle dealer posts a surety bond, they provide a guarantee to the bond’s Obligee (the Alaska Commissioner of Administration) that they will conduct business in compliance with the conditions listed in the Alaska Statutes Chapter 66.

If the auto dealer fails to comply with the statutes, the surety company will pay out financial losses to damaged parties up to the full bond amount. The auto dealer is liable to reimburse the surety for any damages paid under the bond.

How to get your auto dealer license in Alaska

To obtain your auto dealer license in Alaska, you must meet the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles licensing requirements by completing the following steps:

  • Complete the application for dealer licensing
  • Pay the $50 registration fee
  • Post the appropriate surety bond

Alaska auto dealer licenses are valid for a two-year period.

How to Know if You Need a Surety Bond

You’ll know if you need a surety bond because some entity will have required you to obtain one. They must also inform you of which specific bond type you’ll need. There are thousands of bonds across the country, all of which vary by state and industry.

Visit to browse hundreds of bonds by state, type, or industry.

Surety Bonds Online