Who Needs a Dealer License in Florida

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) requires anyone who buys, sells, or offers to sell either:

  • one or more mobile home/recreational vehicles
  • three or more motor vehicles

within any 12 month period to obtain a dealer license to operate in the State of Florida.

Please note that per section 320.771(1)(a)1. of the Florida Statutes, the terms “selling” and “sale” include lease-purchase transactions. Further, the term “recreational vehicle” does not include camping trailers, as defined in 320.01(1)(b)2.

We don’t want to scare you with all this Florida Statutes talk, but if you happen to want to know more. A comprehensive description of the license required for Florida recreational vehicle dealers can be found in section 320.771. Check it out! Or don’t… I’m not here to judge.

Also, this does not mean that if you own a mobile home/RV as a personal residence and you wish to sell it, then you need a dealer’s license. Nor does this mean that if you want to purchase a mobile home/RV for your personal use then you need a license.

Allow me to simplify. If you purchase one or more mobile homes or recreational vehicles for resale, then you need a Florida Recreational Vehicle Dealer License.

If you do plan to sell your personal RV/mobile home, we urge you to check with the FLHSMV to ensure that you are abiding by all state laws and regulations for that sale.

To make things more complicated, there are about ten different licenses available from the FLHSMV, all depending on the type of business you do. Plus, each of those licenses has its own licensing periods.

Licensing Terms

We’d like to point out that the licensing periods for each license also vary. I mean, why anyone would want the renewal dates to be the same is beyond me… It’s preposterous.

Recreational Dealer Licenses and Mobile Home Dealers will be renewing soon. September 30th, to be precise.

Franchise Motor Vehicle Dealers expire December 31st. While the remaining Motor Vehicle Dealers don’t need to worry about their renewal until April 30th.

Make sure you’re aware of the term dates for your specific license! There are usually penalties for missing the renewal period.

If you have yet to get your license, there are some other requirements you need to fulfill before you apply. One of which—getting a surety bond.

What Is a Surety Bond?

The State of Florida requires Motor Vehicle, Recreational Vehicle, and Mobile Home Dealers/Brokers to get a surety bond before they are issued a license.

A surety bond is a three-party contract between the (1)Surety Company that guarantees on behalf of the (2)Obligee that the (3)Principal—which is you—will act according to certain laws and regulations set forth by your license. The Obligee is the entity requiring you to get the bond, in this case, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Unfortunately, the requirements for surety bonds vary depending on the license in question. The most common bonds for Vehicle Dealers in Florida are for Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and Recreational Vehicle Dealers. There are also Mobile Home Dealer Bonds for $25,000 and up to $100,000, but that’s a discussion for another day.

The Florida Recreational Vehicle Dealer Bond

Per Title XXIII Chapter 320.771 Section 16 (a) of the Florida Statutes, the bond amount for an RV dealer who has four or fewer supplemental licenses shall be $10,000. Any RV dealer with more than four supplemental licenses will need a bond amount of $20,000.

If you need an RV Dealer Surety Bond, apply here. This bond is based on credit. Once you apply, someone will contact you within one business day with a quote. At EZsuretybonds.com you can get this bond starting as low as $500.

The Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

Per Title XXIII Chapter 320.27 Section 10 (a) of the Florida Statutes, the bond amount for any used or motor vehicle dealer must be $25,000. For a 2-year bond term, apply here. Otherwise, you can get your Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond here.

This bond is also based on your credit. After you apply, you will receive a quote within one business day. Fortunately, this bond is on the cheaper side. Starting as low as $100 plus any additional shipping costs and fees.

Is Your Credit as Low as My Morale During This Pandemic?

EZsuretybonds.com has worked with all types of credit. Apply anyway and we’ll do everything we can to find you a reasonable quote and contact you within 24 hours.

Now about that morale… go for a run… to the freezer for some ice cream. Ice cream solves everything.

Now You Know

Whether you’re a Recreational Vehicle Dealer or some other type of dealer, we’ll be here to take care of your surety bonding needs. If you have any general questions about surety bonding, check out our FAQ page. Have more questions about your specific license renewal? We recommend looking through this.

If you run into any problems or need any help, please contact us here or give us a call at 1-866-546-4605. That’s what we’re here for!