The State of Montana may require a bond to obtain a title for a vehicle when the applicant is unable to provide a properly assigned Certificate of Title.
The vehicle must be less than 30 years old and have a value of $1,000 or more. A bond is not needed for a vehicle 30 years or older or has a value of under $1,000.
How to obtain a certificate of title in Montana
- You will gather all the documents that the state requires:
• Proof of ownership (this can include a notarized bill of sale, canceled check, or purchase invoice).
• Vehicle Identification Number Inspection Certificate (From MV20) https://media.dojmt.gov/wp-content/uploads/Vehicle-Vessel-OHV-ID-Number-Inspection-Certificate-1.pdf, completed by a law enforcement officer.
• Application for bonded title (Form MV10), https://media.dojmt.gov/wp-content/uploads/Application-for-Break-Bond-Title-1.pdf
• You will need to indicate how you acquired the vehicle, disclose any security interest or liens on the vehicle.
• Determine the value of the vehicle through the National Appraisal Guide (NADA) for the year which you are applying. You will need to provide a copy of the NADA guide showing the value of the vehicle.
• If you are unable to obtain a NADA value for the vehicle, you may complete a Statement of Fact (Form MV100), https://media.dojmt.gov/wp-content/uploads/Statement-of-Fact.pdf
- Apply for the bond. Once you receive your bond in the mail you will submit the bond with all other required documents.
- Determine where to submit the application
• If the vehicle needs license plates, you will submit the application to your county treasurer’s office. Title, registration, and license plate fees will be paid a that time.
• If the vehicle does not need license plates, you will submit the application to the Vehicle Services Bureau or your county treasurer’s office. Title fees will be paid at that time.
- The Vehicle Services Bureau will then process the application, reviewing the circumstances of ownership, the NADA value and the corresponding bond provided.
The bond will remain in effect for 3 years. Once the bond has expired you can request a replacement certificate of title that no loner states it is a bonded title.
Montana Affidavit and Bond For Certificate of Title: https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0610/chapter_0030/part_0020/section_0080/0610-0030-0020-0080.html
Montana Forms and Manuals: Vehicle Title and Registration: https://dojmt.gov/driving/vehicle-title-registration-forms/