State of Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer (Used) Bond

The Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer (Used) Bond starts at $250 plus shipping costs and fees. Fill out the form to buy your bond instantly!
Apply for Bond

Bond Terms

The Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer (Used) Bond starts at $250 plus shipping costs and fees. Fill out the form to buy your bond instantly!
Bond Name
State of Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer (Used) Bond
Starts at $250
Bond Amount
Expires 4/30 every year
State of Florida

What is a Florida Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond?

When the automotive industry faced an influx of fraudulent practices, state governments took it upon themselves to pass legislation to reform these unethical activities. Florida established mandates that prohibited businesses from selling motor vehicles without obtaining proper licensing. Now, in order to sell new or used automobiles in the Sunshine State, businesses must have the appropriate dealer license. To get that license, dealers must also obtain a Florida Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond with a bond amount of at least $25,000.

Why is a Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond needed?

Obtaining an auto dealer bond is not only required to get a dealer’s license, but it also protects the customer by ensuring the dealer acts in accordance with federal and state regulations during the sales process. Typical violations of these regulations include the following:

  • the improper transfer of a vehicle’s title
  • providing false information in regards to the financing of a vehicle
  • adjusting the odometer to misrepresent the car’s mileage

These are only a few of the several possible infractions written under the statutes. Failure to comply may result in a claim on your bond. Dealers operating without a surety bond in place run a high risk of having their license rescinded.

How much does an auto dealer bond cost in Florida?

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) requires auto dealers to have a bond amount of at least $25,000. The cost to purchase your bond will be a percentage of the bond amount. As your bond amount increases, so does your premium. Your premium will depend on factors such as the age of your business, experience in the industry, and most importantly, your credit score.

For individuals with excellent credit, we’ve seen the $25,000 bond quoted for as low as $188. If you have nonstandard credit, getting quoted can be a little more difficult. However, at EZ Surety we work with multiple surety companies to find you the best quote.

Bond term details and obligee information

For auto dealer bonds in Florida, the expiration date of your bond is concurrent with the expiration date of your license. For instance, if you have an independent dealer license (VI), your bond and license will have the same expiration date of April 30th.

The obligee for these bonds is the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). You can contact the FLHSMV for dealer licensing by calling 850-617-3003.

Types of dealer licenses

There are many types of motor vehicle dealer licenses in Florida. The specific one you need will depend on the type of business that you operate. Furthermore, almost every license has a different expiration date. The common ones are listed below.

Franchise Motor Vehicle License (VF)

This license is required for dealers that sell new vehicles. However, licensed franchise dealers can also sell used automobiles. The renewal date for this license is easy to remember as it expires right before each new year on December 31st. This license has a $25,000 surety bond requirement.

Independent Dealer License (VI)

This license is suitable for those looking to deal, buy, and sell used vehicles. The independent dealer license will need to be renewed annually on April 30th. This license has a $25,000 surety bond requirement.

Wholesale (VW), Auction (VA), or Salvage (SD) Dealer License

These licenses are for businesses that operate as wholesale dealers, auction dealers, and salvage dealers. These licenses expire on April 30th annually and require a $25,000 surety bond.

Recreational Vehicle Dealer License (RV and RU)

When buying an RV or mobile home for resale, you must have the Florida Recreational Vehicle Dealer License. RV licenses are set to expire each year on September 30th. RV and mobile home dealers must also obtain a surety bond. However, the RV and mobile home bond amounts range from $10,000 to upwards of $50,000, depending on how many locations you have. For more info on RV dealers, check out this blog post.

How can I purchase a Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond?

Our application process is quick, easy, and free. Simply find the type of bond you need on our website, fill out the short application form, and get your free quote within 24 hours. If you have any questions, reach out to our surety experts at or call us at 1-866-546-4605.

Frequently asked questions

What is an auto dealer bond?

An auto dealer bond is a surety bond required by the government to ensure car dealers adhere to the licensing regulations of their state. It is also commonly referred to as a motor vehicle dealer bond. These bonds are typically required by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the state where the dealer operates. There are many different types of dealer bonds, including RV, mobile home, auction, wholesale, salvage, used car, franchise, and new car dealers.

How to get a car dealer license in Florida?

There are a variety of dealer licenses in Florida, such as franchise, independent, wholesaler, and auction dealers. Once you determine the type of license you need, you must:

  • Obtain an appropriate business location
  • Register your business
  • Get liability insurance
  • Complete a pre-licensing dealer training course
  • Get your auto dealer bond
  • Submit your dealer license application
  • Pay the $300 licensing fee (or $340 for RV and mobile home dealers)

For a more thorough explanation of how to get your Florida dealer license, check out our blog post here.

I bought my bond, now what?

Once you’ve purchased your motor vehicle dealer bond, we mail the original bond to you. Most of the dealer bonds in Florida require the principal (that’s you) to sign the original document before mailing it to the obligee. However, always double-check the obligee’s filing requirements before you mail out the signed bond.

How to Know if You Need a Surety Bond

You’ll know if you need a surety bond because some entity will have required you to obtain one. They must also inform you of which specific bond type you’ll need. There are thousands of bonds across the country, all of which vary by state and industry.

Visit to browse hundreds of bonds by state, type, or industry.

Surety Bonds Online