REQUIREMENTS FOR GEORGIA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE BOND
Thank you for considering a Georgia Certificate of Title Bond. Please review the information on this page carefully before purchasing your bond.
When can a title bond be used for a new title in Georgia?
The vehicle must be in your possession and in Georgia. You must be a legal Georgia resident. A title bond cannot be used if the vehicle is considered abandoned, junked or stolen. A title bond cannot be used if a lien is against the vehicle or if there are lawsuits involving the vehicle. Check with your local tag office or the Georgia Department of Revenue for the most current title bond requirements.
Can a title bond be used on an abandoned vehicle in Georgia?Abandoned vehicles must go through the state process and typically a title bond is not necessary.
For a vehicle with a salvaged title, a title bond may be needed if the state requests a bond. The state will request a bond if the new owner lacks receipts for the parts used to repair the vehicle or if the salvage title is signed improperly. Review state requirements for acquiring a rebuilt title.
What documents should I have before purchasing a title bond?
These documents are required by the state of Georgia at the time you apply for a new title with a title bond. By acquiring these documents first, you will learn if a title bond is an option.
A national vehicle history report is required. The national history report can be purchased from any company that provides NMVTIS. You may purchase a NMVTIS report from our preferred partner for $7.99. Review your report and make sure the vehicle is not salvage or has liens against it.
A T-22B form filled out by a law enforcement officer. This form will confirm that the vehicle is not stolen.
Supporting evidence of ownership such as a Bill of Sale, invoice, cancelled check, or old title.
If the vehicle was last titled in a state other than Georgia, you will need a certified vehicle history report from that state. Go to that state’s DMV website to request a Full Certified Vehicle History Report. We do not provide state certified reports.
How do I know what vehicle value to use on the title bond application?
You must use the vehicle value as determined by the state of Georgia. Enter the Vehicle Identification Number to determine the value.
Can I buy a bond without gathering these documents first?
We issue hundreds of title bonds each month and we highly suggest you secure the proper documents first. While you can buy a title bond without the documents above, the tag office or the state will not process your title application without all documents.
How do I purchase my title bond?
You can apply, preview, pay and print your title bond online with us. The entire process will take only a few minutes for you to receive your bond if the vehicle is $15,000 or less in value.
Is the electronic version of the bond acceptable at my tag office?
The state of Georgia accepts the version of the bond that you can print. However, not every tag office will accept the printable version of the bond. We mail a duplicate original to each client that purchases a bond that includes a raised seal and wet signature. Regular mail shipping is $5 and Fed Ex overnight is $25.
APPLY FOR Motor Vehicle Certificate of Title Surety Bond